Wales Deaf Rugby Union

Undeb Rygbi Byddar Cymru


Registered Charity

No: 1071383

WDRU web graphic WDRU web graphic 7s Welsh_Rugby_Union_logo.svg

Wales squad announced for tour to South Africa


The Wales Deaf Rugby Union has named a 22-man squad to tour South Africa this August.


Wales Deaf face the Deafboks in two Tests hosted in Pretoria, on Saturday 8th August and Wednesday 12th August.  Kick off will be at 3.00pm.


Wales Deaf recently lifted the Broadstreet Cup after a hard fought 20-8 victory over England Deaf at Mosely in April, with Tata Steel hooker Dan Vella picking up a brace of tries during the win.


They are also the reigning World Champions after winning the inaugural Deaf Rugby World Championship in 2002, beating hosts and favourites New Zealand 28-14 in the final.


WDRU honorary secretary Gareth Evans said, "I am delighted to be able to announce the tour party for the Wales Deaf Rugby Union tour to South Africa next month.


"Both test matches will take place in Pretoria with the tour being approved by the WRU.


"I would like to thank the relevant clubs for their continued support and congratulate them on the remarkable achievement of producing players for the squad and we hope to return unbeaten."


The travelling squad is as follows:


Adam Brake - Caerleon RFC

Craig Field - Taffs Well RFC

Damien David - Taibach RFC

Dan Vella - Tata Steel RFC

David Brake - Caerleon RFC

David Wellbeloved - Exmouth RFC

Gareth John - Tata Steel RFC,

Henry Turner - Cardiff Met RFC,

Jack Tugwell - Llandaf North RFC

Matt Jones - Bideford / Morriston RFC

Nick Evans - Tondu RFC

Nigel Francis - Llandaf North,

Nigel Marcus Lear - Abersychan RFC

Owen Jones - Mold RFC

Richard Hicks - Maesteg RFC

Richard Lewis - Dunvant RFC

Rob Mills - Builth Wells RFC

Ryan Shallish - Dinas Powys RFC

Sam Gallagher - Dunvant RFC

Sean Driscoll - Rumney RFC

Tim Parkinson - Milton Keynes RFC

Wes Pooley - Minehead RFC